951-1000 in the world · QS 2027

Sohar University

جامعة صحار

A private, mostly English-medium university in the port city of Sohar, Oman, with published total programme fees.

Sohar, Al Batinah North, Oman Private university Founded 2001 Official website
Students
15,289
Tuition
OMR 2,195
From · Current undergraduate fee sheet (academic year not stated on it; site announced 2026-2027 intake)
Founded
2001
QS World Ranking
951-1000
2027 edition

About SU

Sohar University opened in September 2001 and describes itself (About text, su.edu.om homepage) as the first private university in the Sultanate of Oman. Its campus is in the port city of Sohar, in the north of Oman, which the university calls the country's second largest city with easy access to Muscat and the United Arab Emirates.

The university's website reports 15,289 students, 23,621 graduates, 67 programmes and six faculties: Business, Computing and IT, Education and Arts, Engineering, Language Studies and Law. Undergraduate programmes are delivered in English, apart from Arabic-language ones such as Law and Arabic Language and Literature, and most bachelor's degrees take four years.

Applicants normally enter with a secondary school certificate; those who do not meet the English, mathematics or computing thresholds first complete a General Foundation Programme (GFP). English can be exempted with IELTS 5.0 (no band below 4.5), TOEFL iBT 58 or a score of 61 on the university's placement test. The intakes are September and February.

It suits students who want a low-key, English-medium degree in a coastal Gulf city with engineering, business, computing, education and law options, and who want the fee published as one total for the whole programme.

Why students choose SU

01

Fees are published as one total per programme: for example 9,088 Omani rials for a four-year Bachelor in Accountancy or Management and 9,504 for Computing programmes.

02

Engineering is accredited by Engineers Australia, according to the faculty's page, and offers Chemical, Civil, Electrical and Computer, and Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering.

03

International students get a dedicated service covering pre-arrival guidance, airport reception when applicable, residency and health insurance help, and free access to the university clinic during working hours.

04

The university's homepage lists a 5-Star QS Stars rating (edition not stated) and, in QS World University Rankings 2027, the 951-1000 band.

Admissions

2026/2027 (registration closed; 2027 dates not yet published)

Selectivity

Sohar University does not publish an acceptance rate. Admission depends on the General Education Diploma (or equivalent) and the entry score, and student numbers can be limited by directives of the Ministry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation (MoHERI) and internal recruitment targets.

Testing English placement test (61 out of 100 exempts you from the English component of the foundation programme) and program-specific entry tests for computing and mathematics (66 out of 100 exempts).

Typical entry requirements

General Education Diploma (Oman) or equivalentCompleted with the entry score set for the programme; overseas qualifications are assessed with advice from the Ministry of Higher Education
General Foundation Programme (GFP)Required unless exempted in English, computing and mathematics; students who complete the English part can start the degree at half load
Postgraduate entryEquation letter from the Ministry of Higher Education for degrees earned outside Oman
English languageIELTS 5 · TOEFL iBT 58 Exemption from the English component of the foundation programme: IELTS 5.0 with no band below 4.5, TOEFL iBT 58 (paper-based 500), or 61 out of 100 on the Sohar University English Placement Test.

Deadlines

The university website states that registration is closed and that dates will be announced; no 2027 deadlines were published on 30 September 2026. Semesters normally begin in September and February.

How to apply

Submit the online form through the Admission Portal with your General Diploma or secondary school certificate, two copies of national ID and passport, two attested copies of transcripts and certificates, five passport-size photographs and any language certificate. All entry qualifications must be authenticated. Semesters start in September and February.

What admissions looks for

  • A completed secondary school certificate (General Education Diploma or equivalent) and the entry score for the programme.
  • Meeting the English, mathematics and computing thresholds, or completing the General Foundation Programme first.
  • Authenticated documents: all entry qualifications must be verified, and falsified evidence can lead to exclusion.
  • For postgraduate programmes, an equation letter from the Ministry of Higher Education for overseas degrees.

Tips for applying to SU

  1. 1 Bring an IELTS score of 5.0 or TOEFL iBT 58 to skip the English part of the foundation programme.
  2. 2 Ask the Admission and Registration Department how the Ministry treats your overseas certificate before you apply.
  3. 3 Pay tuition before registration: the university takes full cash or 50% cash plus 50% by post-dated cheque during the semester.
  4. 4 Check the programme language: Law and Arabic-language programmes are taught in Arabic, most others in English.
  5. 5 Contact the international students service for pre-arrival, visa and accommodation guidance.

Costs & financial aid

Current undergraduate fee sheet (academic year not stated on it; site announced 2026-2027 intake) · figures in OMR

Annual equivalent in Omani rials, converted from the total fees for each bachelor's programme in the undergraduate fee structure PDF (total divided by 4 years, rounded; the programme pages give a 4-year bachelor's duration for all programmes listed, and the business/engineering/computing pages also show 2-year diplomas): Business, Accountancy, Management, English Language OMR 9,088 total = OMR 2,272 a year; Computing programmes OMR 9,504 = OMR 2,376; Engineering OMR 10,110 = OMR 2,528; Law OMR 10,812 = OMR 2,703; Education programmes OMR 8,778 to OMR 11,264 = OMR 2,195 to OMR 2,816. The fee sheet does not separate Omani and international students, so confirm the international rate with the university Tuition OMR 2,195 – OMR 2,816
Financial aid

The fee page lists two payment options: full payment in cash, or 50% in cash plus 50% by post-dated cheque payable during the semester, with payment due before registration. The university states that fees are subject to change and lists what is not included, such as textbooks, printing, living expenses and visa costs. Scholarship information for international students was not found on the pages checked.

OMR 9,088 for the whole programme
Four-year bachelor's total fee (Business, Accountancy, Management)
OMR 9,504 for the whole programme
Four-year bachelor's total fee (Computing and IT)
OMR 4,480 to OMR 4,611 for the whole diploma
Two-year diploma total fee (Business)

Academics

Academic calendar: Two semesters, starting in September and February

Chemical, Civil, Electrical and Computer, and Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering

Four-year bachelor's degrees in English, total fee OMR 10,110 each; the faculty states its programmes are accredited by Engineers Australia.

Software Engineering, Cybersecurity and Artificial Intelligence

Bachelor's programmes in the Faculty of Computing and IT, total fee OMR 9,504 each.

Accountancy and Management

English-language business degrees at OMR 9,088 total, with diploma exit at two years.

Bachelor of Law

A four-year degree taught in Arabic with an on-campus moot court and practical training in law enforcement institutions, per an alumnus testimonial.

Education (English, Mathematics, Biology, Arabic, Music, Physical Education)

Teacher-preparation degrees with fees between OMR 8,778 and OMR 11,264 in total.

Bachelor of Arts in Arabic for non-native speakers

A route for international students to learn Arabic, OMR 9,920 in total.

Research

  • The university launched the Dr. Sulaiman Al-Hoqani Research Grant in September 2026.
  • Its research menu lists a Technology Transfer and Incubation Centre and a UNESCO RCQE Chair in emerging renewable and sustainable energy.
  • The homepage reports a 5-Star rating in the QS Stars system (edition not stated).

Schools & faculties

  • Faculty of Business
  • Faculty of Computing and IT
  • Faculty of Education and Arts
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Language Studies
  • Faculty of Law

The university has a Career Guidance and Alumni Services centre and states that it has 23,621 graduates; it does not publish graduate employment rates on the pages checked.

Student life

Sohar University is in the centre of Sohar, next to Sohar Port and Free Zone, with a Learning Resources Centre at the heart of the campus and social and recreational facilities. The Student Services department provides a hostel for female students with transport, medical care through the university clinic, counselling and catering. Sohar itself has a long corniche, a restored 13th-century fort and a busy souq, and summers are long and hot, often above 40 degrees Celsius.

  • Free access to the University Clinic during working hours (08:00 to 16:00) for international students.
  • Hostel and transport for female students.
  • Arabic language courses for non-native speakers through the Arabic Language Center.
  • SU IELTS test centre, described as Oman's premier IELTS testing centre.

Housing. The university provides a hostel for female students; for other students it offers information on on-campus and off-campus accommodation options.

Location

Sohar is an industrial and port city in northern Oman near the border with the United Arab Emirates. The university says it is the second largest city in the Sultanate and has easy access to Muscat and the UAE. It has a coastline with clean sandy beaches, a corniche, the restored Sohar Fort and the Sultan Qaboos Mosque about 2 km from the campus. Summer temperatures often exceed 40 degrees Celsius.

Notable alumni

  • AA
    Abdullah Al-Kamzari
    Civil engineering graduate (2013); team leader at Sohar Central Mechanical Workshop, Oman Oil Refinery and Petroleum Industries Company, per his testimonial on the university site
  • QA
    Qasim Al Ghaithi
    Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering graduate (2015); Manager, Asset Management at Minerals Development Oman, per his testimonial
  • AS
    Abdullah Salim Al Wardi
    Chemical Engineering graduate with a master's in environmental engineering; head of the Environment Conservation Department at the Environment Authority, per his testimonial
  • SJ
    Salim Juma Salim Al-Balushi
    Faculty of Law graduate working with the Ministry of Justice Conciliation and Reconciliation Commission, per his testimonial
  • IA
    Iman Al Kiyumi
    Faculty of Language Studies graduate; English teacher and researcher, per her testimonial
  • KS
    Karim Saleh Al-Habsi
    Business Management graduate, per his testimonial on the university site

Frequently asked questions

How much does Sohar University cost?

The undergraduate fee structure gives a total for the whole programme: OMR 9,088 for a four-year Business, Accountancy or Management degree, OMR 9,504 for Computing programmes, OMR 10,110 for Engineering and OMR 10,812 for Law. That is roughly OMR 2,270 to OMR 2,700 a year.

What English level do I need?

IELTS 5.0 with no band below 4.5, TOEFL iBT 58, TOEFL paper 500, or 61 out of 100 on the Sohar University English Placement Test exempts you from the English part of the foundation programme.

When does Sohar University start?

The first semester normally begins in September and the second in February. Registration for 2026/2027 is shown as closed and 2027 dates had not been announced on 30 September 2026.

How do I pay tuition?

Pay in full in cash, or pay 50% in cash and 50% by post-dated cheque during the semester. Payment must be made before registration and the bank receipt must show your student ID and first name.

Is teaching in English?

Most undergraduate programmes are delivered in English. Law and Arabic Language and Literature are taught in Arabic.

Sources & methodology

Figures on this page were checked against official university publications, national application services and ranking publishers in September 2026. Each number is shown with the year or admissions cycle it describes. Always confirm deadlines and fees on the university's own website before applying.