Campus of the Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University in Bishkek
1001-1200 in the world · QS 2027

Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University

Кыргыз-Түрк Манас университети

A Kyrgyz-Turkish intergovernmental university in Bishkek that says tuition is free and has 840 international students.

Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan Public university (bilateral Kyrgyz-Turkish charter) Founded 1995 Official website
Photo: ПервыйЧеловекВКосмосн · CC0
Students
6,131
3,952 undergraduates
International
14%
of students
Student–faculty
13.3:1
ratio
Founded
1995

About Manas University

Kyrgyz-Turkish Manas University was created by a charter signed by the governments of Kyrgyzstan and Türkiye in Izmir on 30 September 1995, and the first students, 86 of them with 38 professors, began in 1997-98 in Turkology, History, Management and Computer Engineering. The charter was renewed in a new agreement signed on 26 April 2011. Diplomas are stated to be recognised in both countries.

The university reports 6,131 students as of September/October 2025, of whom 840 are international, including 248 in a preparatory language course, and 376 academic staff of whom 120 are international instructors. It lists 12 faculties, one institute, a School of Foreign Languages and a vocational school. Its 'by the numbers' page counts 98 degree programmes (10 associate, 44 undergraduate, 27 master's and 17 doctoral), and its history page says all meet Bologna Process requirements.

The most unusual line on its 'by the numbers' page is a single sentence, 'Tuition is free', which gives no scope (who it covers, which programmes, or the preparatory year) and no fee schedule. Students come mainly from Kyrgyzstan and other Turkic-speaking countries, and the university reports 22 nationalities from 13 countries. It suits students who want a Turkish-influenced university in Bishkek with programmes such as Turkology, Translation, International Relations, Computer Engineering and Medicine, and who can apply through the university's own examination or Turkish or Kyrgyz national exam scores.

Why students choose Manas University

01

The university's 'by the numbers' page states 'Tuition is free' without saying who it applies to, and its 2025 Turkish-exam score table labels Medicine 'Medicine (Paid)' without giving an amount; ask the international relations office what applies to your nationality and programme.

02

It accepts scores from its own Manas-ÖSYM exam, Kyrgyzstan's ORT/GRANT, Turkish university exams and bilateral-agreement exams, so applicants can use whichever suits them.

03

It has 12 faculties, from Humanities and Engineering to Medicine, Veterinary Medicine and Theology, plus a School of Foreign Languages.

04

Dormitories house 1,450 students, and the campus has a covered sports complex, 44 student clubs and free 24/7 internet.

Admissions

Published international rules (last dated application period: summer 2024); 2027 dates not published

Selectivity

Manas does not publish an acceptance rate. Admission is by exam score (the Manas-ÖSYM exam, the Kyrgyz ORT/GRANT, Turkish exams or others recognised by the Senate) and a minimum secondary-school average.

Testing Accepted: the Manas student selection and placement exam, Kyrgyzstan's General State Examination (ORT/GRANT), Turkish university exams, exams named in bilateral agreements, and university special-talent exams.
Grades Secondary certificate average of at least 70/100, 7/10 or 4/5; graduates applying with a higher-education diploma need transcript grades of CC or above.

Typical entry requirements

Secondary school diplomaAverage at least 70 out of 100 (or 7/10, 4/5); applicants are citizens of any country except Kyrgyzstan and Türkiye, or hold a UN refugee document

Deadlines

  1. Previous cycle (2024): application deadline Non-binding Passed
    17 July 2024

    Application period from 10 June 2024; written examination 23 July 2024; interview 24 to 25 July 2024. Dates are from the last published cycle.

The admission page still shows the 2024 dates; no 2027 dates were found. Check the university's admissions page or its international relations office.

How to apply

International applicants email a copy of the secondary-school certificate or diploma with subjects and grades (with a notarised Russian or English translation), a passport copy, two recent 3x4 photos and any state entrance exam certificate to the university's international relations office, then sit a written examination and an interview. Applicants from other countries may use exam scores recognised by the Senate.

What admissions looks for

  • A secondary-school certificate with an average of at least 70/100 (or the equivalent).
  • Passing scores in an accepted entrance exam or the university's own exam.
  • A notarised Russian or English translation of your certificate and grades.
  • Non-Kyrgyz and non-Turkish citizenship for the international route.

Tips for applying to Manas University

  1. 1 Check the published score tables for the program you want; they list the lowest and highest 2025 scores for the Turkish YKS and the Manas exam.
  2. 2 Prepare a notarised translation of your certificate into Russian or English before you apply.
  3. 3 Ask about the preparatory language course if your Turkish or Russian is not strong enough for your chosen program.
  4. 4 Ask the international relations office whether tuition applies to you: the site says 'Tuition is free' without a scope, yet Medicine is labelled 'Paid' in the 2025 Turkish YKS score table.

Costs & financial aid

2026-27 · figures in KGS

Financial aid

The university's 'by the numbers' page (September/October 2025 data) states 'Tuition is free' with no scope or conditions given. The 2025 Turkish YKS score table labels Medicine 'Medicine (Paid)', with no amount or explanation of who pays. The university also lists a Social Assistance Fund and dormitories for 1,450 students, but we found no published dormitory prices or fee schedule.

'Tuition is free' - no statement of which applicants or programmes it covers
Tuition (university 'by the numbers' page; scope not stated)
Labelled 'Medicine (Paid)'
Medicine (2025 Turkish YKS score table; scope and amount not stated)
1,450 students
Dormitory capacity

Academics

Turkology

One of the four fields taught to the first class in 1997-98.

Translation (Russian-Turkish, Kyrgyz-Turkish, Kyrgyz-English)

Translation programmes appear in the score tables, and Russian-Turkish translation has among the highest 2025 YKS scores listed.

International Relations

Offered in the Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences, with a published 2025 YKS score range.

Computer Engineering

Taught since the first class in 1997-98.

Medicine

Listed as a paid program with the highest 2025 YKS scores on the university's tables.

Research

  • Research centres include the Center for the Study of Turkic Civilizations, the Turkic World Strategic Research Center and a Biotechnology-Biodiversity Research Center.
  • The university reports 43 research projects completed and 45 approved in 2025, with 244,591 US dollars from its own budget.
  • It reports 100 laboratories, workshops and studios and more than 98,000 books.

Schools & faculties

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty of Communication
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Tourism
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Faculty of Sciences
  • Faculty of Theology
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Sport Sciences
  • Institute of Graduate Studies
  • High School of Foreign Languages
  • High School of Vocational Education

The university reports 13,155 graduates working in 43 countries, including 894 graduates in 2024-2025.

Student life

Manas University has 44 student clubs, a student council, a Student Development and Counseling Center, a healthcare centre and a barrier-free university programme. The sports complex covers 3,180 square metres, with football fields, courts, a gymnastics hall and halls for judo, sambo and taekwondo. Dormitories on the Chyngyz Aitmatov campus host events such as poetry readings, debates and excursions that bring together students from across the Turkic world. The university reports free 24/7 internet access on campus.

  • 44 student clubs and a student council.
  • A 3,180 square metre covered sports complex with judo, sambo and taekwondo halls.
  • Dormitories for 1,450 students on the Chyngyz Aitmatov campus.
  • A Social Assistance Fund and a Barrier-Free University initiative.

Housing. Dormitories with places for 1,450 students are on the Chyngyz Aitmatov campus in Bishkek.

Location

The university is in Bishkek, the capital of Kyrgyzstan. Its main Chyngyz Aitmatov Campus covers about 84 hectares, and there is a small central campus. As a Kyrgyz-Turkish institution, it says it gives preference to students from Turkic-speaking countries.

Nearest airport: Manas International Airport (FRU)

Frequently asked questions

Is Manas University free?

The university's 'by the numbers' page says 'Tuition is free' but does not say who this covers, and its 2025 Turkish YKS score table lists Medicine as 'Paid'. No fee amounts are published, so ask the international relations office (iro) which applies to you.

How do international students apply to Manas University?

Send a notarised copy of your secondary certificate with grades, a passport copy, two photos and any entrance exam certificate to the university's international relations office, then sit the written exam and interview.

What grades do I need to apply?

An average of at least 70 out of 100 (or 7/10 or 4/5) on your secondary school certificate.

Which entrance exams does Manas accept?

The Manas student selection exam, Kyrgyzstan's ORT/GRANT, Turkish university entrance exams, and exams named in bilateral agreements.

Where does Manas University rank?

The QS World University Rankings 2027 place it in the 1001-1200 band. Times Higher Education lists it in 2026 as a 'Reporter' without a rank.

Sources & methodology

Figures on this page were checked against official university publications, national application services and ranking publishers in September 2026. Each number is shown with the year or admissions cycle it describes. Always confirm deadlines and fees on the university's own website before applying.