The striped double-arched main gate of the Islamic University of Madinah rising above landscaped gardens under a cloudy sky
1001-1200 in the world · QS 2027

Islamic University of Madinah

الجامعة الإسلامية بالمدينة المنورة

A Saudi government university in Madinah that funds international students through the Study in Saudi scholarship route.

Madinah, Al Madinah Province, Saudi Arabia Public university Founded 1961 Official website
Photo: AhmedA1995 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Students
17,873
International
85%
of students
Tuition
Free
2026-27
Founded
1961

About IU Madinah

The Islamic University of Madinah was established by Royal Decree No. 11 dated 25/03/1381 AH, which its admission guide gives as 6 September 1961. It combines Shariah studies with scientific disciplines: the university's website lists colleges of Shariah, the Holy Qur'an, the Noble Hadith, Creed and Islamic Propagation, Law and Economics, Computing and Information Systems, Engineering, Science, Business, Arabic Language and Humanities, and Languages and Translation.

It is an unusually international university. Its homepage counters (undated) show 17,873 students, 878 teachers and 1,272 employees, and it says it has graduated more than 112,000 alumni since 1964. The country count varies by page: the 1448 AH (2026) scholarship admission guide, the newest dated source, says students from more than 140 countries are currently enrolled, about 85 percent of the regular student population, and that students from over 170 countries have studied there; the homepage says over 180 countries and its Guinness record note says more than 170 nationalities. The university has institutional accreditation, programme accreditation for 24 programmes, and ABET accreditation for its Computing and Engineering faculties.

For foreign students the main route is a Saudi government scholarship applied for on the Study in Saudi platform. Theoretical colleges teach in Arabic and scientific colleges in English, and Arabic learning at the university's institute is a preparatory stage for students who need it. The campus sits on the banks of Wadi al-Aqeeq, 10 kilometres from the Prophet's Mosque.

Why students choose IU Madinah

01

Full scholarships for non-Saudi students living abroad cover undergraduate study at no cost, with a monthly stipend, a two-month arrival allowance, a three-month graduation allowance, university housing and subsidised meals.

02

Scientific colleges (Engineering, Computing, Science) teach in English, and the Computing and Engineering faculties are ABET accredited.

03

Students come from well over 100 countries: the 2026 admission guide (newest dated page) says more than 140 countries are currently enrolled, while other pages cite 170 or 180, so the student body is mostly international.

04

Free transport between campus and Al-Masjid An-Nabawi, free medical services and a central library are listed among the student services.

Admissions

1449 AH (2027-28) entry; dates not yet published, previous cycle 1448 AH shown

Selectivity

The university publishes no acceptance rate. Full (external) scholarship places are awarded through the Study in Saudi platform after document review and any tests or interviews the university announces; submitting an application does not guarantee admission.

Testing Applicants must pass any entrance examinations or interviews the university announces. Applicants for the Faculty of the Holy Qur'an must have memorised the entire Qur'an and pass an oral examination. An Arabic placement test may be used. Applicants who finished school inside Saudi Arabia are treated as internal-scholarship applicants and must submit the General Aptitude Test and, for science faculties, the Achievement Test.
Grades Internal (partial) scholarship ranking uses a weighted score: theoretical colleges 50 percent secondary certificate and 50 percent General Aptitude Test; scientific colleges 30 percent certificate, 30 percent General Aptitude Test and 40 percent Achievement Test.

Typical entry requirements

General secondary certificate or equivalentObtained within the last five years (the president can grant an exemption); science-track certificate required for scientific colleges
Age17 to 25 years
Residence for full scholarshipsMust not be residing in Saudi Arabia
OtherGood conduct, no disciplinary dismissal from another university, no other scholarship in Saudi Arabia, police clearance, two recommendations, medical fitness
English language Applicants to scientific colleges whose previous studies were not in English, or who are not from a country where English is official or primary, must provide an accredited English proficiency certificate such as IELTS or TOEFL. The guide does not state a minimum score. Theoretical colleges teach in Arabic.

Deadlines

  1. Study in Saudi application window, 1448 AH entry (previous cycle) Passed
    19 April 2026 to 21 May 2026

    Window for full (external) and partial (internal) scholarships, per the university's announcement dated 29 June 2026. Dates for 1449 AH entry were not yet published.

The only published dates are for 1448 AH entry (19 April to 21 May 2026), which has closed. Use them as a guide for the 1449 AH cycle and check the Study in Saudi platform.

How to apply

Apply online through the Saudi Ministry of Education's Study in Saudi platform (studyinsaudi.moe.gov.sa). Upload the secondary certificate and transcript, passport, birth certificate, criminal record certificate, medical report, two academic recommendations, a recent photo, and English proficiency proof for scientific colleges. The university says it has no offices or agents anywhere authorised to receive applications.

What admissions looks for

  • A general secondary certificate (science track for scientific colleges) obtained within the last five years.
  • Good conduct, a clean police record and two recommendations from recognised bodies or scholars in your country.
  • Medical fitness and success in any entrance tests or interviews the university announces.
  • A commitment to follow Saudi and university regulations, including returning home after graduation.

Tips for applying to IU Madinah

  1. 1 Apply only through the Study in Saudi platform: the university says it has no agents or offices that receive applications anywhere in the world.
  2. 2 Keep your registered email active; the university uses it for document requests and visa steps, and failure to respond can lead to rejection.
  3. 3 Choose your faculty carefully: scholarship students cannot transfer between faculties after admission.
  4. 4 Check the platform for gender and religion eligibility rules, which the English guide we read does not state.

Costs & financial aid

2026-27 · figures in SAR

No tuition for students on full (external) scholarships, which are granted to non-Saudi students living outside Saudi Arabia to study full-time at no cost. Internal (partial) scholarships give full tuition exemption to non-Saudis legally resident in the Kingdom but no stipend, housing or tickets. Tuition SAR 0
Financial aid

Full (external) scholarships provide a monthly stipend, a two-month arrival allowance, a three-month graduation allowance for shipping books, a discounted economy ticket at the end of each academic year, university housing and subsidised meals; the stipend amount is not stated in the guide. Partial (internal) scholarships give full tuition exemption to non-Saudi residents of the Kingdom. Both are applied for through the Study in Saudi platform.

Free tuition, monthly stipend, housing, subsidised meals
Full scholarship
Full tuition exemption, no stipend or housing
Partial scholarship

Academics

Shariah (Islamic Law)

The original college, which began in 1381 AH with 85 students and now has over 7,500.

Holy Qur'an

Requires complete memorisation of the Qur'an for admission and was described as the first college of its kind in the Islamic world.

Computer Science, Data Science and Information Technology

Taught in English in a faculty with ABET accreditation.

Engineering (Electrical, Mechanical, Civil, Industrial, Chemical)

Taught in English; the Faculty of Engineering has ABET accreditation.

Science (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Financial and Actuarial Mathematics, Environmental Sciences)

Scientific course with English instruction and a science-track certificate requirement.

Noble Hadith

Awards bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in Hadith sciences.

Research

  • The university runs a research deanship and scientific journals listed on its site.
  • 24 academic programmes have programmatic accreditation.
  • Computing and Engineering faculties are ABET accredited.

Schools & faculties

  • College of Shariah
  • College of the Holy Qur'an
  • College of the Noble Hadith
  • College of Creed and Islamic Propagation
  • College of Law and Economics
  • College of Computing and Information Systems
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • College of Science
  • College of Business
  • College of Arabic Language and Humanities
  • College of Languages and Translation

The university says it has graduated more than 112,000 alumni since 1964 and lists an alumni portal and the Jadarat employment platform.

Student life

Scholarship students live in university housing with subsidised meals, and the university lists free transport between campus and Al-Masjid An-Nabawi, a central library, free medical services, sports clubs and facilities, shopping centres, restaurants and a post office. Students come from dozens of countries, with instruction in Arabic or English depending on the college. Students on full scholarships must return home after graduation.

  • University housing and subsidised meals for full scholarship students.
  • Free transport between campus and Al-Masjid An-Nabawi.
  • Free medical services and a central library.
  • Scientific and cultural activities and sports clubs.

Housing. University housing and subsidised meals are provided to full (external) scholarship students; partial (internal) scholarship students do not receive housing.

Location

The university is on the banks of Wadi al-Aqeeq, about 10 kilometres from the Prophet's Mosque, in the western part of Madinah. Its address is Abu Bakr Al Siddiq Street, Al Jamiah, Madinah 42351. Free university transport connects the campus with Al-Masjid An-Nabawi.

Notable alumni

  • ZM
    Zulkifli Mohamad al-Bakri
    Malaysian scholar; Wikipedia says he took a bachelor's degree in Shariah at the university (1989-1993). The university's site presents him as a pioneering graduate and Minister of Islamic Affairs in Malaysia (title undated)
  • SS
    Saeed Shaheem Ali
    Maldivian scholar presented on the university's site as a pioneering graduate and Minister of Islamic Affairs in the Maldives (title undated; no independent source found)
  • MA
    Muhammad Ahmad Luh
    Senegalese scholar who graduated in 1418 AH; later head of the Fatwa Committee of the Union of African Scholars
  • MA
    Muhammad Ayyub
    Qari and imam of Al-Masjid an-Nabawi (1990-1997 and again in 2015, per Wikipedia); took a bachelor's degree from the university's Faculty of Shariah in 1976
  • II
    Ihsan Ilahi Zahir
    Pakistani Islamic scholar and author; per Wikipedia, the first Pakistani student at the university, graduating in 1968

Frequently asked questions

How do international students apply to the Islamic University of Madinah?

Through the Saudi Ministry of Education's Study in Saudi platform. The university says it has no offices or agents that accept applications.

Is the Islamic University of Madinah free?

Full (external) scholarships for non-Saudis living abroad cover undergraduate study at no cost and include a monthly stipend, housing and subsidised meals.

What language are classes taught in?

Theoretical colleges teach in Arabic and scientific colleges in English; applicants to scientific colleges may need an IELTS or TOEFL certificate.

When is the application deadline?

For 1448 AH entry the window ran from 19 April to 21 May 2026. 2027 dates had not been published when we checked.

What is the QS ranking of the Islamic University of Madinah?

It is in the 1001-1200 band of the QS World University Rankings 2027 and the 1001-1200 band of THE 2026.

Sources & methodology

Figures on this page were checked against official university publications, national application services and ranking publishers in September 2026. Each number is shown with the year or admissions cycle it describes. Always confirm deadlines and fees on the university's own website before applying.