1001-1200 in the world · QS 2027

Almaty Technological University

Алматы технологиялық университеті

A 1957-founded Almaty university specialising in food, light industry, IT, engineering, economics and hospitality.

Almaty, Kazakhstan Joint-stock company university Founded 1957 Official website
Tuition
KZT 920K
From · 2026-27
Founded
1957
QS World Ranking
1001-1200
2027 edition
Campus
Urban
More than 70,000 square metres of infrastructure (total area)

About ATU

Almaty Technological University (ATU) was founded in 1957 and is registered as a joint-stock company. Its homepage says it has been firmly among the top five universities in Kazakhstan for training specialists in food, processing, textile and light industries, engineering and IT, economics and business, and tourism and hospitality.

Its structure, per the university's About page, is 6 faculties, 21 departments, the Kazakh-Swiss Institute of Tourism (HTMI), 3 research institutes, 8 research laboratories and 13 educational and scientific centres, from a bread and dairy centre to a Kazakh-Korean technology and design centre. It offers 35 bachelor's, 31 master's and 15 doctoral programmes. ASIIN granted international institutional accreditation on 24 March 2023, and IQAA granted national institutional accreditation on 24 June 2023.

The campus on Tole Bi Street has more than 70,000 square metres, 4 academic buildings, 5 dormitories, a sports hall and stadium, a medical centre and an educational restaurant. ATU suits students who want applied programmes in food technology, fashion and textile design, IT, robotics, economics or hospitality, and who are comfortable with a programme-by-programme admission route and a tenge-based fee schedule.

Why students choose ATU

01

Applied, industry-linked programmes: the university lists 13 educational and scientific centres, including bread, dairy, meat processing, and hospitality training centres.

02

Accredited programmes: ASIIN has accredited 23 programmes internationally, and IQAA and IAAR have accredited 40 and 23 programmes nationally.

03

Information Technology programmes include Information Systems, Software Engineering, Artificial Intelligence Technologies and Data Science.

04

Five dormitories on the university's campus, with a published annual price per place.

Admissions

2026-27 fees; 2027 admission dates not published

Selectivity

ATU publishes no acceptance rate. Citizens of Kazakhstan are admitted using Unified National Testing (UNT) results, with creative exams for design programmes; foreign applicants register online and take an interview.

Testing Kazakhstan applicants: Unified National Testing (UNT); creative exams for creative programmes. Foreign applicants: an individual interview with the admissions committee.

Typical entry requirements

Secondary school certificate with transcript (foreign applicants to bachelor's programmes)Uploaded to the applicant portal, then original notarised copies submitted; nostrification of the certificate through the Public Service Center (TsON) is required
Diploma with transcripts (foreign applicants to master's programmes)Uploaded to the applicant portal

Deadlines

  1. Foreign students: autumn semester
    Original documents by 20 August

    Classes start 1 September. Year not stated on the page; previous-cycle dates.

  2. Foreign students: spring semester
    Original documents by 10 January

    Classes start 20 January. Year not stated on the page; previous-cycle dates.

The deadlines are listed without a year on the foreign-student admissions page. No 2027 dates were published when we checked.

How to apply

Foreign applicants complete the online registration on the applicant portal and upload a scan of their foreign passport and secondary school certificate with transcript (bachelor's) or diploma with transcripts (master's). They then take an interview (time and mode set by the admissions committee and posted on the website) and submit original documents, including passport, IIN, residence permit and entry permit (visa), notarised copies, medical certificate 075-U with fluorography, six 3x4 cm photographs and a vaccination record.

What admissions looks for

  • A valid secondary school certificate with transcripts, nostrified in Kazakhstan for foreign applicants.
  • For citizens of Kazakhstan, results in the Unified National Testing, with creative exams for design programmes.
  • A successful interview for foreign applicants.
  • A complete set of immigration and health documents, including entry permit, residence permit and medical certificate.

Tips for applying to ATU

  1. 1 Start nostrification of your certificate early: the university lists a certificate confirming submission for nostrification among required documents.
  2. 2 Check whether your citizenship is in the CIS group or Turkmenistan: the university publishes separate fee schedules for CIS, non-CIS and Turkmenistan citizens.
  3. 3 Non-CIS students who hold a Kazakhstan residence permit are entitled to study at the tuition rate for Kazakhstan citizens, according to the university's fee note.
  4. 4 Submit original documents by 20 August for the autumn semester; the page gives no later date.

Costs & financial aid

2026-27 · figures in KZT

Kazakhstan citizens on paid places, full-time bachelor's on the basis of general secondary education, per academic year for 4 (5)-year programmes, from the 2026-27 fee schedule approved on 27 April 2026. Shortened programmes for applicants with higher education are listed at KZT 1,250,000 for some programmes. Tuition KZT 920,000
+ annual dormitory-only figure (one place, one academic year): kzt 350,000 in dormitories 2 and 4 and kzt 400,000 in dormitories 1, 3 and 5, per the 2026-27 price list for additional services (same for foreign students). this is a genuine low annual amount, about us$700, not a monthly or full-budget figure; food and other living costs are not published. KZT 350,000 ≈ KZT 1,270,000 per year
Full-time bachelor's per academic year for 4 (5)-year programmes, 2026-27: KZT 920,000 for students from CIS countries and KZT 1,009,600 for students from non-CIS countries (Economics and Business shortened 3-year programme KZT 1,346,135 non-CIS). Turkmenistan citizens pay in US dollars: US $2,200 per year for 2026 entrants. Non-CIS students with a Kazakhstan residence permit pay the Kazakhstan citizen rate. Tuition KZT 920,000 – KZT 1,009,600
+ annual dormitory-only figure (one place, one academic year): kzt 350,000 in dormitories 2 and 4 and kzt 400,000 in dormitories 1, 3 and 5, per the 2026-27 price list for additional services (same for foreign students). this is a genuine low annual amount, about us$700, not a monthly or full-budget figure; food and other living costs are not published. KZT 350,000 ≈ from KZT 1,270,000 per year
Tuition ANNUAL dormitory-only figure (one place, one academic year): KZT 350,000 in dormitories 2 and 4 and KZT 400,000 in dormitories 1, 3 and 5, per the 2026-27 price list for additional services (same for foreign students). This is a genuine low annual amount, about US$700, not a monthly or full-budget figure; food and other living costs are not published.
Financial aid

The university lists a Cost and Benefits page and international scholarship programmes, but no ATU-specific scholarship amounts were found on the pages we retrieved. The fee schedule notes that applicants who did not reach the UNT threshold score pay 100 percent of the first-year bachelor's fee.

KZT 350,000 to 400,000
Dormitory price (per year)
Separate USD fee schedule (US $2,200 for 2026 entrants)
Turkmenistan citizens

Academics

Academic calendar: Autumn semester from 1 September; spring semester from 20 January (per foreign-student admissions page)

Technology of Food Products

Core programme of the Faculty of Food Technology, supported by bread, dairy and meat processing centres.

Biotechnology

Faculty of Biotechnology and Chemical Technologies, alongside Ecology and Pharmaceutical Production Technology.

Fashion Design and Design

Faculty of Design, Textile and Clothing Technologies; creative exams apply.

Artificial Intelligence Technologies and Data Science

Faculty of Information Technology programmes listed for 2026-27.

Robots and Robotic Systems and Industrial Robotics

Faculty of Intelligent and Engineering Systems programmes.

Tourism and Restaurant and Hotel Business

Linked to the Kazakh-Swiss Institute of Tourism and an educational hospitality centre.

Research

  • Research institutes for Food Technologies, Food Safety and Light Industry Problems, with eight laboratories.
  • Two dissertation councils, in Food Industry Technology and Light and Processing Industry Technology.
  • The university reports cooperation with more than 95 foreign educational and scientific institutions.

Schools & faculties

  • Faculty of Food Technology
  • Faculty of Biotechnology and Chemical Technologies
  • Faculty of Design, Textile and Clothing Technologies
  • Faculty of Economics and Business
  • Faculty of Information Technology
  • Faculty of Intelligent and Engineering Systems
  • Kazakh-Swiss Institute of Tourism

The university says students undergo internships followed by employment at leading enterprises in Kazakhstan; no figures are given.

Student life

The campus has five dormitories, a sports hall and stadium, a medical centre, a scientific library, a student service centre and an educational restaurant. The university lists student life, a Military department and an alumni association on its site. Dormitory places for students cost KZT 350,000 to 400,000 per academic year.

  • Five dormitories on the main campus.
  • Sports hall and stadium.
  • Educational and production restaurant and food complex.
  • Medical centre and student service centre.

Housing. Five dormitories; 2026-27 price KZT 350,000 to 400,000 per place per academic year for students including foreign students from far-abroad countries.

Location

The university is at Tole Bi Street 100 in the Almalinsky district of Almaty, Kazakhstan's largest city.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Almaty Technological University cost?

For 2026-27, full-time bachelor's tuition is KZT 920,000 a year for Kazakhstan and CIS students and KZT 1,009,600 for non-CIS students on most programmes.

How do foreign students apply to ATU?

Register on the applicant portal, upload your passport and school certificate, take an interview, and submit original documents by 20 August for autumn or 10 January for spring.

How much is a dormitory at ATU?

KZT 350,000 to 400,000 per place per academic year in 2026-27, depending on the dormitory.

What accreditation does ATU have?

ASIIN granted international institutional accreditation on 24 March 2023 and IQAA granted national institutional accreditation on 24 June 2023.

What is ATU's QS ranking?

Almaty Technological University is in the 1001-1200 band of the QS World University Rankings 2027.

Sources & methodology

Figures on this page were checked against official university publications, national application services and ranking publishers in September 2026. Each number is shown with the year or admissions cycle it describes. Always confirm deadlines and fees on the university's own website before applying.